Common questions regarding the email integration

Updated 4 days ago by Tina

On this page, we will respond to most common questions regarding the email integrations.

If the wished answer is not to be found here, please contact our Support team at support@gorgias.com or reach out to us via the chat widget form this page.

What is the default email address used for under my email integrations page?

The long email address under your integration page is a default email address added automatically with creating your account. Under the email integration page, you need to have at least one email address. So until you add your support email, this default one cannot be deleted.

This email address is mostly used for setting up the forwarding, if your email integration is not the direct one (email providers: Gmail or Office 365). You can still delete this email address from your integrations page if you are using forwarding as well, since it will be available in further forwarding steps, you can check that here.

To be able to use this feature and the mentioned address, the address needs to be verified first, and when your Gorgias account is created, the email verification is automatically sent to the account owner's address.

If you have finished your forwarding set up, you can delete this address from your integration page and it won't have any impact on your Gorgias account. Also, if you have accidentally deleted that email address, it can be added back, by copying and pasting the address from the forwarding settings and verifying it.

What happens if I send a mass email to a lot of BCC’d customers?

Can their replies, as well as my own, be split into different tickets? Will replies be visible to all recipients?

Not exactly. Gorgias is generally not made for sending mass emails. One of the reasons being, all the replies from the recipients of the mass email will go to the same ticket thread and this thread will be visible to all other recipients (regular recipients, not the ones who were BCC’d) should you chose to reply to one of them. We have no way to prevent this and split it into multiple tickets.

Now, the BCCd recipients will not be visible to other recipients initially. However, if one of the recipients replies to you (even using the reply option, not reply all), that message will go to the same ticket as the messages from other recipients. Should you choose to reply to an inquiry from that ticket at any time, the entire conversation thread will be visible.

If we respond to our customer emails outside of Gorgias, will they refresh and update in Gorgias as a closed ticket?

If you respond to an email outside of Gorgias (e.g. through your Gmail), your response will be shown in Gorgias as well, but the ticket will remain open until manually closed. Similarly, you can reply to and close a ticket in Gorgias, but the email will remain in your inbox and appear as unread.

Can we send an image to a customer without typing anything in the message body?

Currently, you cannot send an image by adding it to your reply directly and sending it without any text. However, if you simply attach the image, you will not have to type any text at all and can easily send the picture. The only difference is how this will appear to the receiver of your email.

What is the size limit for files sent through Gorgias?

Currently, the limit for Gorgias is 10 MB. However, different email clients might have different size limits. E.g. when a customer attempts to send a file/files larger than 25 MB via Gmail, those will be sent as a Google Drive link. In that case, the file will be viewable only if the sender shares access. Link sharing is best in this case.

When I copy my text from Gmail to Gorgias, the formatting is all messed up. What can I do in this case?

Gorgias does not copy formatting from external sources. When copying text from a different app or source, make sure to paste it as plain text/without formatting - the keyboard shortcut for this is Ctrl + Shift + V for Windows (Cmnd + Shift + V for Mac). Once you pasted the text without formatting, format it in Gorgias again normally.

What does it mean when an email looks like it was sent by Gorgias Bot?

A Gorgias Bot is (in this case) simply indicating a response was sent outside of Gorgias, via one of the integrated email accounts. If a reply to a customer’s email is sent through your email directly instead of through Gorgias, it will show as sent by Gorgias Bot when you take a look at the ticket in Gorgias. This is because Gorgias cannot tell which agent sent the response through your email account.

Another time when you will see Gorgias bot instead of a users name is when the reply was sent by a rule in Gorgias. When this happens, you will see a link to the rule next to the Gorgias bot.

Can I forward the chat transcript to a certain email address once a chat ticket is closed?

While there are chat settings that allow you to choose which email integration the transcript is automatically sent from after 1 hour, there isn't exactly an option to forward the chat transcript manually. However, if, after the conversation via chat is done, you forward the email to a certain email address, you will see the previous messages in the thread as well.

I am getting an error message "You have reached a limit for sending mail. Your message was not sent." I cannot send messages from either Gmail or Gorgias.

It could be that you have reached the Gmail sending limit for the day.

After reaching a sending limit, a Gmail user can't send new messages for up to 24 hours. However, they can still access their G Suite account and receive incoming email. The user can also access their other Google services. After this suspension period, sending limits are automatically reset and the user can resume sending mail.

What is the tag GMAIL-UPDATES and can we remove it via a rule?

These tags are actually automatically pulled from your Gmail account. We also have the automatic tags for Gmail categories: Social, Promotions, Updates, and Forums.

You can easily disable this option by accessing Settings > Integrations > Email > Select your Gmail account and uncheck the feature.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)